The Planted Tank Forum banner

What should I add to my sand to make it richer?

4K views 31 replies 9 participants last post by  Zareth 
#1 ·
I have been using pool filter sand for the past 2 years in my tank. I am gonna do a major rescape of the tank and want to add something like peat moss to help the substrate be a little more nutrient rich for the plants. What would be my best bet to add to an already established aquarium?

#4 ·
I've started using Miracle Gro Organic potting soil in my tanks and like it quite a bit. That would be a cheap, easy alternative for you. 1-2" of Miracle Gro capped with an inch of sand (or whatever else) works well.

Here's a pic of mine under Flourite (mix) in my 90gal:

In my 46gal you can't see the layers through the glass since I first edged the tank with my Flourite mix before adding in the Miracle Gro, so that's an option if you don't like the look. Some of the Miracle Gro will eventually mix in with the cap layer, though.

#9 ·
you would want to put it under the sand.

As what laura said, trust it. I didn't get the right kind of top soil and it never mineralized properly, and I had really bad issues.

As for Miricale Grow Organic Potting Soil, it wont cost more then 5$ I also

#16 ·
Now I am a little confused. If I buy a bag of the miracle grow organic potting soil, will I have to 'mineralize' it? If so, is there a how to on the site? I plan on removing all of the plants and fish from my tank and 80%-90% of the water. Then I was going to move the sand to one side, add soil, move sand on top of soil and repeat on other side. Is this a good idea?

#18 ·
No, you won't have to mineralize the potting soil. Using potting soil is a different technique then using mineralized top soil. There is a sticky on how to make MTS in this forum.