Questions about black substrate - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-16-2011, 03:06 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (6/100%)
Questions about black substrate

I have flourite as my substrate. In the past I have tried unsuccessfully to grow HC, Riccia, Dward hair grass and so on as they would keep floating up. One of the reasons could be that I am still a newbie and was doing something wrong, or it could be due to the particle size of the substrate.

I am starting a new tank using the same flourite that I had. I am thinking of capping it with an inch or so of finer grain black substrate, maybe be that would help to root any kind of plants with finer roots. That brings the question of what to use.

Some of the easiest to get my hands on would be Eco complete planted black aquarium substrate, Caribsea Tahitian moon, Flourite black sand. I can run to a Petco / Petsmart and get 2 bags and be done. But are these just inert sand, or do they have some properties that help plants grow ? Is one better than the other ? Are there any other good name brand products I am missing ?

My second option is to get black pool filter sand, black diamond / black beauty sandblasting media, Estes ceramaquartz. Might be a little harder to find, but I can surely do the work if they work. One advantage of these, a lot lot cheaper than the name brand products. After reading threads / forums / google search, it seems a lot of people use these to successfully grow plants. If that is the case why does one buy the expensive name brands ?

The more I read, the more confused I get. I would really appreciate if you guys can shed some light and help me decide which way to go. I would really like to start my tank this coming weekend.

Thanks for reading.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-16-2011, 03:14 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (5/100%)