Mineralized Topsoil Approach with Miracle Gro Organic Choice Potting Mix? - The Planted Tank Forum
 6Likes
  • 1 Post By AbbeysDad
  • 1 Post By Quagulator
  • 1 Post By Quagulator
  • 2 Post By Quagulator
  • 1 Post By ursamajor

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-24-2019, 12:12 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Mineralized Topsoil Approach with Miracle Gro Organic Choice Potting Mix?

Hi everyone,

In short, can I apply the mineralized topsoil approach mentioned by Aaron Talbot here with the miracle gro organic choice potting mix (MGOCPM)? Please continue reading for additional details.

I am about to start my first planted tank. Upon setting up this tank, I plan to transfer all my fishes and snails from my current 10-gallon freshwater tank into it. I am a bit of a newbie but excited with aquariums and planted tanks. So please bear with me in case my questions were already answered in the past. The following is my plan so far.

Tank size: 29 gallons (30" L x 12.5" W x 18.5" H)
Substrate: dirt (MGOCPM) capped with black diamond blasting sand
Aquascape: some hybrid of Dutch and Nature styles
Plants: not sure entirely but thinking of at least one carpet plant
Tech: low-tech without any CO2
Light: conventional T8 that came along with the tank
Current fishes: 3 corydoras (1 albino + 2 pandas), 3 baby female bettas, 3 guppies (2 females + 1 male)
Current snails: 1 mystery, 1 rabbit

I have been reading a lot about dirted planted tanks and its requirements. I stumbled upon the mineralized topsoil approach by Aaron Talbot mentioned above. I read about it and multiple discussions surrounding it in many forums. So here are my questions.