Super confused about ADA Amazonia and KH - The Planted Tank Forum
 9Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-20-2018, 07:23 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Super confused about ADA Amazonia and KH

Tried to post this yesterday and it never showed up... I will try again.

First of all I am brand new to the hobby. This is my first ever tank of any kind.

I do not know what information I should be providing here, so I guess to start things off I should list what I'm working with...
Fluval Flex 15 gallon tank. Filter has filter floss and some Seachem Matrix in the first chjamber, the second chamber has the stock sponge loaded with 2 bags of Matrix and under it some Purigen. Third chamber just has my Cobalt Aquatics Neo-Therm 50w heater and the stock pump. I also have a temp. probe in the 1st chamber.

The water at my house is pretty horrid, and I wasnt sure if it was safe to use the post softener system water due to the salt... So I purchased a BRS RO/DI system and have this filling a 32gallon Brute. The storage can has a heater and a pump in it. Water is kept at 76*f and circulating.

Substrate is a base of Powersand Special, topped with Amazonia. Substrate is about 2"-3" deep. I followed the ADA guide as far as planting right off the bat, and I am also following the water change guidelines. 1st week daily water changes, 2nd week every other day... I'm only in that second week, my 2nd week started Sunday.

I dont know if my tank is considered heavily planted, but I did my best without trying to spend too much money. Being brand new I know there is a high chance I'll kill my plants >.<'

My plant list is as follows: (See Pics)
Anubias sp. ‘Petite’
Anubias Barteri 'Butterfly
Ludwigia palustris
Echinodorus Parviforus
Rotala wallichii
Anubias Barteri Golden
Eleocharis parvula
Staurogyne Repens
Taxiphyllum barbieri
Cryptocoryne crispatula var. balansae