How long can a substrate last? - The Planted Tank Forum
 26Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 10-27-2018, 03:48 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
How long can a substrate last?

I am new to planted tanks and wanted to know just how long a substrate can last. I read an article by "Edward" (of pps systems). He states that plants can go into just gravel and that good fertilizer put into the water will be all that is needed. Others seem to think that plants need soil of some form for the roots.
Don't soil mixes break down and turn to "mud" after a few years and then have to be replaced?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 10-27-2018, 09:30 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

You can plant into plain gravel, a fine gravel makes it easier - it's more a case if ease of holding them down long enough to room. The downside with that is you need to keep up with your water column fertilising as the gravel has no nutrients. You can use root tabs too though.

Other soil, it depends, some will break down, others last years - breaking down is often not an issue unless you disturb it. Soil will have nutrients to start with but it can also often pull and store them from the water column. Again you can add root tabs to maintain nutrients over time too.

Which is best really just depends what you want to grow, how long you want it to last, whether you will remember to dose regularly and how you want it to look.
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 10-27-2018, 02:49 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Quote:
Originally Posted by tamsin View Post
You can plant into plain gravel, a fine gravel makes it easier - it's more a case if ease of holding them down long enough to room. The downside with that is you need to keep up with your water column fertilising as the gravel has no nutrients. You can use root tabs too though.