What's a good substrate to plant for a beginner? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-09-2011, 07:51 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
What's a good substrate to plant for a beginner?

Since I'm new to this hobby I've gone the route of fake plants + gravel. I really like the look of gravel, but I don't think most plants are going to grow in it. Is it possible to do a dirt underneath of gravel? I don't see any issues, but I don't want to get started on the wrong foot.

I'm going to be setting up a simple 10g and try my luck at a bunch of plants/grass and maybe some mosses. There are just so many substrate choices that I'm lost.

Any advice is much appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-09-2011, 07:54 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (5/100%)
If you like the looks of it, then go with it. Any pool filter sand would do, and gravel on top of that I think would suffice. You will eventually need to add some type of ferts to the substrate. I'd stick with some smaller gravel, though.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-09-2011, 07:57 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Sand huh... I think I'm really confused with this stuff for some reason. I have no problem mineralizing it. The thing I really didn't want to do was use Co2. I realllly don't want to keep spending a lot of money on this. I'm not at that point yet.

I think I'll have to look into adding minerals. Is it the same kind of deal as the "plant food". That's what my LFS suggested for keeping a few live plants in my other tank.

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-09-2011, 08:02 PM
Plant Clown

PTrader: (32/100%)
You'll have better luck with finer-grained gravel than thicker stuff. But by "gravel", do you mean actual rock or epoxy-coated neon stuff they sell at big chain pet stores (which you will assuredly see referred to as "clown puke")?