Help with sand substrate - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-14-2011, 02:11 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Help with sand substrate

I am fairly new to the fishkeeping world, so I am still in the process of learning a great deal about fish and plant care. I set up a new 30g tank about four days ago and added 25lb of CaribSea Super Naturals sand

I added a few ferns, some mondo grass, umbrella plants, and a couple mystery plants. Then I started looking for info on keeping plants in sand substrates and I haven't found anything very reassuring. Is it impossible for plants to thrive in this type of substrate? Are there any pointers anyone can give me? I'd prefer not to change substrates, but if I have to I'd really like to keep a white sand substrate like I have, if at all possible. Any pointers would be appreciated!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-14-2011, 04:43 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (5/100%)
I'm curious about this myself. I've heard of using soil and capping with sand. I wonder how pure sand works.

"Aquarists are a brave lot. We mix water and electricity every day."
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-14-2011, 04:50 PM
Planted Member

PTrader: (10/100%)
Seeing as it's not nutrient rich substrate, you might consider looking into/researching fertilizer pellets that you can stuff into the sand and a fert regime for the water column. Beyond that, I'm just as much a Newb and anyone!!

I'm setting up a tank now and looked into similar options. I've decided to either put sand over my Amazonia substrate or have a partitioned tank. Two options that may have come late for you. Good luck!

Matt

My South
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

6g Eclipse
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-CRS & RCS
Sunsun Pimp # 43