Keeping the good bacteria while changing the substrate. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 12-28-2017, 04:40 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Send a message via Yahoo to Hedy1975
Keeping the good bacteria while changing the substrate.

I apologize if I put this in the wrong spot or if this question has been posted and I just missed it. I am still a newbie to shrimp keeping. We've had them for a few months now and have a had a few deaths but nothing drastic. At the time when I was setting the tank up the only subtrate I could find that was recommended by a local petstore chain was Nat Geo sand substrate. I thought the black would look pretty with the shrimp in their 20 gal. long and would compliment my male Dumbo Halfmoon blue betta Merlin. I was going to go with the some kind of soil since all of my aquariums are planted.I was told that was not a great idea because it woud be expensive. The soil breaks down quickly and you have to replace it oftn. Is that true? I have the 20g long shrimp tank with 2 mystery snails, 10 gal. betta tank with 1 male betta and 1 mystery snail and a 20g tall betta soroity tank with 5 female bettas and 2 mystery snails and a few ghost shrimp.