So Many Substrate Choices! Feedback Please? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-23-2010, 04:38 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Smile So Many Substrate Choices! Feedback Please?

Hello there! I'm new to the idea of keeping planted tanks, and I want my first attempt to go as well as possible, so I've been doing my homework. I would like to "dry start" this tank to avoid algae blooms and get a good carpet of spreading plants on the bottom.

I've found a lot of different opinions about substrates on this forum and on other websites, and I think I've settled on the mix I want to try. The bottom layer would be a top soil made of 90% peat moss and 10% sand mixed with some vermiculite to keep it from compacting, then a layer of Eco Complete and more vermiculite, and I'd like to swirl in a little mix of gravel and tiny shell bits for contrast and sparkle.

Does this sound like a good starting point? Please let me know what you think or if you have ideas that might work better!

Thank you!

Don't Worry, Be Happy!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-23-2010, 06:22 AM
Algae Grower

Hi DJ80's!