Eco-Complete and Water Chemistry Problems - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-10-2010, 10:16 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Eco-Complete and Water Chemistry Problems

Hello everyone. I am new to planted tanks and have been at it for about 8 weeks now. I posted this question on another forum, but its been a few days, and I cant get a response =( I am hoping to find an active forum, as I need some guidance I have had many trials and tribulations since I started and have re-worked my tank numerous times to correct mistakes. I think I am finally getting there, and want to ask two questions.

First question is about Eco-Complete substrate. I changed my substrate to about 3 inches of Eco-Complete two weeks ago, and topped it with about an inch or so of inert gravel, giving me about a 4 inch base. Since then my water Chemistry has been acting crazy. My GH was 10 before, out of the tap, and about 9 in the tank. Now it is 7 in the tank, which is odd because my PH went from 6.8 to 7.8 since the change. I thought if the water was softer the C02 would lower the PH easier. I am using gas like crazy, and it just doesn't seem to want to drop. My drop checker used to turn light green at just under 2 bubbles per sec, now im at almost 4 and it still wont drop, the drop checker gets dark green at best. I read that the Eco-Complete can mess with water chemistry. If so, has anyone who used it know how long it lasts? or is there something I should do?