Black Tahitian Moon in low-light/tech setup - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-08-2010, 02:42 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (0/0%)
Black Tahitian Moon in low-light/tech setup

So I did a search here on tanks that use this substrate, and I saw that quite a few of you (or, more then I expected) are quite successful at keeping plants in Black Tahitian Moon sand.

I was just wondering, for those who do/did use it, any suggestions or tips on keeping plants in this sand? This is my first attempt at a planted tank. Been in the hobby for over 15 years, but only recently got the planted tank bug.

Any pointers would be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-08-2010, 03:53 AM
Fresh Fish Freak

PTrader: (70/100%)
I don't have TMS in my tanks, but ColorQuartz which is very similar.

I find it's very easy to plant in, holds stems down very easily.

You just need to make sure to supply balanced nutrients in proportion to your light level.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- Next meeting Monday, Oct 13, 2014 @ 7:15pm- See ya there!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-08-2010, 11:22 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

Thanks for the reply!

Glad to here it. New substrate was not in the budget. How thick did you lay it out in the tank?

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-08-2010, 01:19 PM
FSM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (1/100%)
My 75 is mostly colorquartz and another type of black sand, with a bit of flourite mixed in for looks.

I'm running CO2 and adding fertilizer, and the stem plants have been growing great. The one sword I have (ozelot sword or something like that)hasn't gotten very tall, but it has been spitting out new leaves consistently.