Question for the Pros at Mineralizing Topsoil - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-12-2010, 02:03 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (7/100%)
Question for the Pros at Mineralizing Topsoil

When I rinse this stuff should the water turn completely black? I purchased some topsoil at HD and I'm currently in the process of rinsing it. On a side note, I went with one of the methods Tom Barr suggested for those with limited space (me): boiling it.

*disclaimer* boiling dirt is messy and might not be for everyone. Also requires big freaking pot.

Anyways, the reason I'm concerned is each time I rinse the soil/dirt/sand/mixture, the water turns completely black. And if I take a small enough chunk of the "topsoil" and run it under the water long enough, all I get is sand. Since I'm not a dirt expert, is that what dirt is? I'm guessing the black stuff I'm rinsing out is the organic matter I want to mineralize and the sand is part of the mix? I've already screened this stuff to get rid of the twigs, rocks, etc.

If someone has experience with this, I'd appreciate the assurance that I'm doing this either the right way, or the complete wrong way.

Help?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-12-2010, 02:19 PM
Planted Member

PTrader: (23/100%)
I dont know if this is correct as I have never done it. But I think that you are supposed to get it wet, like a muddy mixture then spread it out to dry. Then repeat. I dont think you are supposed to "rinse" the dirt as you are probably washing it down the drain. Leaving the only the heavy particles...sand. I may be wrong....

"For England James?"
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-12-2010, 02:38 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (39/100%)