Unsure of which substrate to use - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-26-2010, 01:19 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Unsure of which substrate to use

I'm planning to set up my first ever planted tank (10g), and I'm lost as to which substrate to use. I keep finding good and bad about everything, and being that I have to order it, I don't get to see it. I'm planning on a low tech tank, but want a decent substrate, and who knows, maybe I'll switch to high tech later on if I'm comfortable enough. I'm torn between Flourite Black Sand, Flourite Black, and Flourite Dark. I really like the look of the Flourite Black Sand, but I've never used sand in a tank before. How is it maintenance wise? How often does it need to be stirred to prevent gases? And wouldn't it be difficult to do that with plant roots in it? I'm clueless as to how to take care of sand really, especially with plants involved. I would be able to use trumpet snails for now, but once my current fish dies I would like to get a puffer. I know they can't be with trumpet snails because their shells are too hard. Flourite Black I thought looked a little too grey, and I might prefer the somewhat more natural look of Flourite Dark over the grey look. So my questions are, what kind of maintenance would the sand need without trumpet snails? And does anyone have any pictures of your tank with either of the three substrates in use so I can get an idea of how they look in a tank with plants?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-26-2010, 01:31 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (9/100%)
Send a message via AIM to bradac56 Send a message via MSN to bradac56 Send a message via Yahoo to bradac56 Send a message via Skype™ to bradac56