Pool Filter Sand - cloudy water? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-21-2010, 08:57 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Pool Filter Sand - cloudy water?

Hello all,

I have just purchased a 20 long with the intention of planting it and a couple of cories and a couple of dwarf puffers. I'm using pool filter sand as a substrate and I cleaned it pretty thoroughly. I put it in a bucket and ran a hose to the bottom and swished the sand around for 20 minutes or so with my hands then i just let the bucket overflow with water for about 2 hours. When I went back to check on it, the water was clear. I swished around the sand a little bit and it settled right back down and the water stayed clear.

SO, I put the sand in the tank and filled it up with water but the water is quite cloudy. It's been probably 2 hours. This is my first time using PFS so I'm just wondering if this is normal. Should I turn the filter on? (Penguin 200)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-21-2010, 10:15 PM
Planted Member

PTrader: (12/100%)
turn it on

Quote:
Originally Posted by macclellan
The Advanced ballast is slightly more advanced than the Workhorse ballast, although not quite as much of a workhorse...
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-21-2010, 10:32 PM
Planted Member

The PFS is heavy so shouldn't get sucked into your filter intake, unless you have fish that like to pick it up and spit it out elsewhere in the tank. Same thing happened with my PFS. Took about 3-4 days, but it cleared and has been 100% clear since.

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-21-2010, 10:39 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Awesome! Just the advice I was looking for. Thanks
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-23-2010, 02:43 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

if anyone's interested, the sand already settled and i've already got some anubias in the tank it's kind of bare right now but this is my first planted tank so i'm still learning.