Riparium(ish) plan: Am I headed for disaster? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-04-2016, 02:27 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Riparium(ish) plan: Am I headed for disaster?

Hi everyone. I've been lurking on this forum for a long time - well over a year! - but this is my first time posting.

I've been doing a lot of research for my second planted tank, which I'd like to make as a shallow, riparium-type setup. I have a 25 gal with canister filter (thanks to a great Craigslist deal), and it will be covered by a glass lid with T5HOs over it.

Now every riparium I have seen is set up in a similar way - emersed plants growing from baskets/rafts hung on the back of the tank. Is there a reason why one couldn't just plant them directly into the substrate at the bottom of the tank, and have them growing up out of the water?

This may be a silly question, but I've searched all over this forum and others and come up with nothing. I have the suspicion that there's probably a very good reason why no one does this though! I know that excessive water in emersed 'growout' setups can lead to mold... is that the issue here too? Or is it something else?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-04-2016, 02:59 AM
Algae Grower

Are you looking to grow terrestrial plants or aquatics? Lots of houseplants and such won't survive having their leaves/stems submerged long term even if they'll take to having their roots in water just fine. And planting something in the substrate puts them pretty far below the surface unless you're doing something shallow, so having them grow up to above the water level where they'll be happy before they succumb to drowning, is probably not the best bet.

I've read that lucky bamboo can be planted directly in the substrate for emersed growth, you just want to make sure the leafy part is in the air. Which is actually the only time I've been tempted to grow it.