First vivarium, 36x18x18 ExoTerra - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-05-2015, 04:21 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
First vivarium, 36x18x18 ExoTerra

This is my first try at a vivarium. I'm really happy how the water portion turned out, like the rock pile and natural caves. For the land part I wish I would have done a DIY expanding foam background, maybe next time. Also in retrospect should have got a 36x18x24 to give the plants more room to stretch. But all in all quite happy.

The land portion has an eggcrate false bottom covered by landscaping weed barrier, thin layer of expanded clay balls, and main substrate is from NEHerps. 4x36" T5HO fixture with 6700k bulbs. Bought a mixed lot of cuttings from a local seller and also added the 2 bromeliads and 2 tillandsias. Unfortunately the cuttings in the lot were not individually labelled. I have identified a few as various Peperomia species, but not sure on the rest.

Total water volume about 6gal, filtered by a Rio 50+ powerhead with filter kit (replaced foam from one chamber with biomedia). I have 3 guppies in there after a fishless cycle. They really love the caves and go right in there to sleep as soon as the lights go out (blue moonlight LEDs stay on for night viewing). The system seems to be handling the bioload quite well. All the plant species seem to be thriving too (Lobelia cardinalis, Anubias nana, Spathiphyllum wallisii). The Lobelia cardinalis need to be thinned out, can't believe how much they grew in short time. I still want to find another semi-aquatic species to fill in on the back wall of the water portion, any suggestions are welcomed.

Thanks for looking!

Last edited by simplechamp; 09-06-2015 at 06:06 PM. Reason: Added pic and info
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-05-2015, 05:41 PM
Wannabe Guru

Smile