building my first paladarium need advice - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-07-2015, 10:23 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
building my first paladarium need advice

hi im a newbie here im building my first paladarium been doing tons of research it and what I want my end results to be.after looking at tons of pictures of paladariums and vivariums if came up with the basic design I want,i plan on housing plants (not sure on aquatic yet but a possibility),fish,my yr old waterdragon and maybe some dart frogs later.i want a large water section with raised landscaping just barely touching the water maybe 3-5",waterfall incorporated in and a diy background with plants.my tank dimensions are h:36",W:33",l:24"(plexi), my plans are to have the first foot or so the aquarium portion with a raised landscape
Click image for larger version

Name:	water dragon.png
Views:	665
Size:	28.7 KB
ID:	457658
that's my basic design im looking to make.this is were I need help I want it to have its own little eco system.
questions:
im planning on using plexiglass to raise all my landscapingand just have my drainage layer submerged in the water with a 4" trim around it with holedrilled in the sides to allow proper drainage for my substrate and allow waterflow through my drainage layer. what would my pros and cons be ?is it ok that my drainage from my landscape mixes with the aquarium?

next I plan on using bulk head fitting to eliminate hoses and what not running through the tank, has any one done this and what would the cons be by doing this?

do I need a air bubbler or co2 system and will a co2 system have negative effects on the waterdragon or dart frogs?

will I be over filtering the water running an internal and external filtering system?

is it a good idea to have a overflow drain just above my drainage layer to prevent any possibility of the substrate soil becoming soaked?