Step inside and lets discuss some paladarium possibilities - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-01-2004, 02:21 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (2/100%)
Send a message via AIM to kluivertfan2
Hello all. Im thinking of making a paladarium featuring frogs, fish (especially rainbows), and maybe some geckos or something. I have no experience with them and could find very little in the way of guidance on the internet. except this site.
Can anybody give me some tips on what to get as far as animals?
What kind of a layout to use?
What kind of plants to use?
how filled it should be with water.
It will in a 50 gallon tank.
If there is any info im forgetting to give you let me know.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-01-2004, 02:59 AM
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
Geckoes are not really good for paludariums. They do need humid enclosures, but not watery ones. Some could eat your fish, yet it is rare. For a paludarium I would instead get anoles, for their small size. They give you less trouble with land areas as they can pose on some plants without breaking them or falling down.

As for the water/land thing, for frogs and newts I find much better to use a large piece of bogwood rather than glass/acrylic dividers, or false bottoms. Do just a half full planted aquarium with large wood pieces coming out of water, enough to give room to bask, and tall enough to be able to dry.