Classroom Terrariums - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 65 (permalink) Old 09-11-2011, 07:09 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (0/0%)
Classroom Terrariums

Ok so I need some searious step by step help here. I am a classroom teacher for a 6/7 split class. Part of the curriculum is different environments. I have a couple of personal tanks at home not doing anything so... I want to create some terrariums. I need to keep this as inexpensive as possible.

In my 4 gal tank I would like a very wet environment. like a pond. I am very inspired by the 5.5 gal budget post right under this one. I have a nice chunk of wood from my aquarium at home that I sawed the ends off of to make it fit. There will be a large pond area. How do I put this thing together? I have black gravel in the bottom, Wood for decoration. Then some peat moss and then potting soil? Then put whatever aquatic plants in there?
I have a HOB filter already to create a mini waterfall and some movement. I can put this guy in front of the window for natural light OR should I get a light strip. Should I have a lid or no? Should I get 1 fire belly toad OR an african clawed frog OR just a white cloud or two OR some shrimp OR nothing at all? I need some searious step by step help as well as what kind of plants can grow well emmersed from the fish tank. What fertilizers can go in a tank like this? Jobes fern plant sticks okay? Im gonna need to find some small clippings for this. Dont know where other than the classifieds. So I hope someone will be willing to help.

I also have a 10gal that I would LOVE to turn into a carniverous plant tank. How would I put one of these together? I would need to get a light I assume because they like it really bright and a glass lid for high humidity yes? What kind of light would be best?