New Paludarium Seeker, looking for heat - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-08-2020, 04:34 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Lightbulb New Paludarium Seeker, looking for heat

Hello all,

I live up in minnesota, and found ThePlantedTank through the internet. I'm new to the technology in paludariums, but have some experience in aquatic and terrestrial plants and animals. I want to be sure to set up my first paludarium so it will happily support all the life inside, but I've been a bit stuck on appropriate heating.

I'll be running full/broad spectrum LED lights for the land and water lights with animals (likely some a small frog or two and some cold water fish). I have a vertically oriented tank and am comfortable keeping the water at its natural 70*F in my home. I'm curious about heating and have been looking into bulbs, heating elements, and heating bulbs (incandescent?). I need to heat the terrestrial area to support life. I like the idea of heating both the terrestrial and aquatic area with one heating pad on the side of the the vertical tank I'll be using, but I'm a bit worried a little frog may want to warm up too much while climbing across the glass. What's my best option? Any ideas would be great!

Thank you,

aaron
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-08-2020, 01:01 PM
Wannabe Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by newpal View Post
Hello all,

I live up in minnesota, and found ThePlantedTank through the internet. I'm new to the technology in paludariums, but have some experience in aquatic and terrestrial plants and animals. I want to be sure to set up my first paludarium so it will happily support all the life inside, but I've been a bit stuck on appropriate heating.