LEDs in clamp fixtures? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-17-2017, 02:48 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
LEDs in clamp fixtures?

Hello,

Painfully dumb newbie here. I've been keeping a 10g planted tank with a lot of success since spring and now I'd like to try a riparium. I've had the following plants growing either in potting soil constantly moist or simply rooted in water and only receiving ambient light from my bedroom window (room faces south and gets good light) for several weeks and they have been doing fine so I am confident they will take to the riparium style without much trouble:

Anthurium
Syngonium
Alocasia

Not sure of the species names, only genus. I will also be adding a ligularia but I'm not sure if it will work. I'll let you know!

Since the emersed plants seem to be doing ok with ambient light I'm more curious about what kind of light I'll need for the immersed plants. I have myriophyllum, amazon sword, blyxa japonica, corkscrew vallisnera, and nymphaea lotus to add. I was thinking of purchasing two led bulbs and two clamp fixtures such as this:

https://www.petco.com/shop/en/petcos...rs-clamp-lamps

However, the details on that clamp fixture says to only use with incandescent or ceramic heating bulbs. Are there clamp fixtures that can be used with leds? From your experience, what type of lighting works best for both emersed and immersed plants? I have been searching past threads for advice but tbh my head is spinnng

Thank you in advance for any insight you can offer.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-17-2017, 05:01 AM
Algae Grower

First confirm with petco what is the bulb base fitted on that clamp. Household incandescent bulbs are usually E27 in my place. Just search amazon for an E27 LED bulb (if the clamp is also E27).

Here's an example: https://www.amazon.com/OUYIDE-Equiva...led+6500k+bulb