Tentative Paludarium/Vivarium Journal - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-25-2010, 02:25 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (6/100%)
Tentative Paludarium/Vivarium Journal

Hey all, this is my first time venturing into the land of half-full aquariums! It's mostly a bunch of brainstorming, so don't expect photos right away.

What I want: I'd love to use my new mosses to create a lush submerged 'pond' with a small trickle over rocks (assuming a canister filter would be good, or a modified HOB). The land portion will be terrestrial moss and some nice emersed crypts. I also want some twisted pieces of wood sort of hovering over the pond with moss growing on them.

Materials: I think I'm going to use my last empty 10 on this, or I could get a 20 long. I'm really fond of 20 longs because of their dimensions. I'd probably use one of my spare filters, too. To make the pond/riverbanks I could build it up with mesh and make a hole in it to form a cavernous space under the land area for a nocturnal fish (viewable from the back? Hmmm.).

Part of me wants to, instead, do a shoreline tank with fiddler crabs and a small current creating natural 'waves'..but that'll stay in my head for a while.

I'm not sure if I'll make the water section big enough for fish, but with all that moss..I'd love a little creature that could lounge around on it and also swim in the water. This will be my LAST tank for a while, unless I rework the existing ones.

Thoughts?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-25-2010, 06:22 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

After doing a bit of research, I want to stock it with either marbled salamanders or Northern Red salamanders.
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-25-2010, 11:05 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (1/67%)