Green Water Algea - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-18-2020, 05:48 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (9/100%)
Green Water Algea

Hey everyone!

I got out of the hobby for 4 years and sold all three of my tanks. Well I finished my masters degree and celebrated with starting a ne 30G planted tank!

So I've got the tank to cycle and it took a month. Parameters are pH 6.8, Ammonia 0ppm, Nitrites 0ppm, Nitrates 20 to 40 ppm, temp 74.5 farenheit. Running a fluval 3.0 12 hours a day with pressurized Co2 keeping the drop checker green during lights on hours. Mid way through stocking with 4 mystery snails, 3 iris, 6 neons and 20 TVs.

Got hit with some serious green algea. Cant see the back of the tank it's so bad. I've reduced the light period to 8, reduced feeding but I was feeding a very small amount once every other day. Filters are clean and I've been doing 30% water changes every week.

Will reducing the light and a 30% water change be enough? Could it be my phosphates?

Really stumped because I cant see anything in the tank.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-18-2020, 07:23 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
dim your lights and run for only 6 hours a day. what kind of plants do you have? what percentage of your tank's footprint is planted? are you dosing ferts? do at least weekly 50% water changes, especially if you are dosing ei levels. don't complete stocking your fish yet, get a handle on the gw first.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-18-2020, 07:43 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

What moke said. ^^^

However, for near-instant gratification, a Diatom Filter will take it out in about an hour.

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-19-2020, 04:55 AM Thread Starter