Algae growth in new tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-04-2020, 02:30 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Algae growth in new tank

Hello all ,
So I am a noob in the hobby and this is my first tank
I have been experiencing lots of unknowns and finding it hard to get the answers Im looking for
While doing internet research.
My tank has been set up now for just over a month and things seem to be getting out of control.
I have some massive algae growth going on and trying to figure out the cause ( will add photos)
Tank is 120 liter 32 gallon
Light onf flat one on for 6 hrs a day
Pressurized CO2 at 2 bubbles a second and comes on 2 hrs before lights.
Filter is oase biomaster thermo 350 set at 75 f
As of about a week ago the tank is cycled
No ammonia or nitrite showing in tests but nitrate is also showing 0ppm and never changes
Not sure what this means
I do not have live stock in the tank as of yet either
Any help would be greatly appreciated and I can add more info in needed
Cheers
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20200129_162419_1580783332529.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	4.17 MB
ID:	892847  

Name:	IMG_20200129_162628_1580783376731.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	5.07 MB
ID:	892855  

Name:	IMG_20200129_162535_1580783400910.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	5.60 MB
ID:	892861  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-06-2020, 06:13 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

Hurray your first algae bloom ..... ok not really a cause for celebration. All part of the process of learning your new hobby or new tank.

The nitrates are probably zero because of no bioload or waste to be converted. Are you dosing? If so probably should have some indication of nitrates I would think. Looks like a bunch of younger plants (I think, assuming) and relatively thin. Its going to be a balance to get them going strong and out competing the algae.