White Algae or Mineral Buildup? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-29-2019, 08:21 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Unhappy White Algae or Mineral Buildup?

Hey everyone!

This is my first time here at The Planted Tank! I've been having a problem though, and I can't seem to sort this one out myself...

I moved to Northern Indiana (from Texas) and brought my tank along with me. Since then, all my Jungle Val have died off. Originally, I thought this was white algae growing and covering my tank and destroying my plants. My Nerites and Amanos won't (or maybe can't?) eat it. I'm only able to get rid of it by scraping it off with a razor. Water levels are all good. Ammonia 0, Nitrates 5, Nitrites 0 (ppm). The PH is the only high thing, at 8. But that seems to come with the area and the fish are doing fine with it. I dose with Flourish Excel every couple days and water change/gravel vacuum every 1.5 weeks.

Any idea what this could be and or how to deal with it? I'd like for my tank to be nice again

(I added pics in the attachments, I believe).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20191129_150605636.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	220.6 KB
ID:	890083  

Name:	IMG_20191129_150600505.jpg
Size:	126.7 KB
ID:	890085  

Name:	IMG_20191129_150551503.jpg
Size:	311.4 KB
ID:	890087  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-29-2019, 08:38 PM
Wannabe Guru

GH of water?
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-29-2019, 08:49 PM Thread Starter

Online database shows 374 mg/L Ridiculously hard.

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-30-2019, 04:23 AM
Wannabe Guru