Please Help: High Tech 250g Hair/BBA 12 months old - The Planted Tank Forum
 9Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 06-05-2019, 01:26 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Please Help: High Tech 250g Hair/BBA 12 months old

Problem: I've been fighting BBA and Hair algae for several months. I've tried spot dosing peroxide (didn't even turn BBA red). Manual removal only results in regrowth (definitely a balance problem here somewhere). I checked TDS today for the first time in a few months and it's out of control. I definitely have some kind of precipitants floating in the tank despite hourly water changes.

Setup: I run an Apex ph controller set to drop pH ~1 deg during lighting period. Lighting period is ~6.5-7hrs using 4xEcoTech XR15FW G4 Pros over a 72x24x31" tank. Although most of the algae grows on my DHG Belem carpet, it also appears other places in the tank and my plants aren't getting what they need. I've been dosing PPS Pro High light suggested dosing from GLA forever in this tank via an Apex DOS spreading the dosage out evenly with the lighting period. As far as normal water changes go, I have a drain pump that turns on for ~7min (1g) an hour and the tank gets refilled directly from an RO/DI system.

Stock: Until last week I pretty much only had RCS, Amanos, and Oto's. In the last week I've added ~70 very small fish (most less than an inch).

Parameters:
ph: 6.7 with CO2, 7.7 (off-gassed)
Nitrate: 35ppm
kH: 4.48
gh: 80ppm (remineralized from RO/DI with Ultimate GH Booster)
TDS: crazy off the chart at 650ppm but I had just added K2CO3 in raw form