• 1 Post By MobileEMP
  • 1 Post By RollaPrime

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-27-2019, 02:38 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Algae Nightmare and Cuba Carpet

Hey there!

Newbie here seeking some advice. Iíve got a new setup, about 3 weeks old. 21 gallon, hi tech setup. Lighting is the aqua illumination freshwater. Everything was going well until I hit an algae roadblock.....

Carpet was carpeting... plants are thriving.... went away for a few days and returned to a hair algae nightmare. Hereís my challenge.... I simply canít remove the algae without removing the carpet. I just destroyed most of it trying LOL.

Many of my other plants and hardscape rock is also covered. I am considering just starting over. I know that lighting has a huge impact on this so I have a few questions.

1. Anyone use the AI freshwater? What are your ideal settings to still give enough light for high light plants such as the Cuba without too much to produce algae growth?

2. Any ideas on how to remove the hair algae without ripping up the carpet.

3. Should I bleach dip everything else including the other plants?

4. Should I just start over.... lol?

Any/all advice is greatly appreciated!

Hereís a pic of my tank when things werenít so chaotic hahaha.

Iíve since gotten rid of the Anubias, and the carpet has grown MUCH denser.

This is where I am right now after destroying the carpet and removing one rock to try and scrub it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-27-2019, 08:44 PM
Planted Member

I am no pro by any means but I would suggest riding it out for a little while. New tanks in my experience tend to go thru some algae cycles. If you dont figure out what/why/how the algae is taking off then it will repeat even if you tear everything down.

Like I said no pro here but there are others that with more knowledge will help if you get them some more information.