I could use some advice on how to clean up my algae farm - The Planted Tank Forum
 50Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 99 (permalink) Old 07-08-2018, 10:15 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
I could use some advice on how to clean up my algae farm

I have had a planted tank for about 20 years, but I wouldn't say I have 20 years of experience in the hobby... It feels like I have 1 year of experience 20 times. I had a few brief years of a nice-looking tank when I had the LFS starter-grade fluorescent hood that put out about one candlepower. Then, I "upgraded" my light and added CO2 and everything went to hell. I keep stepping down light output and photoperiod over the years. Nothing has cured the issue but lowering light has helped a bit.

I am sure that despite my best efforts I am making some fundamental errors, because I'm just overrun with BBA and even cyano sometimes. The only time I see clean leaves on my Java fern and bolbitis is when I prune the BBA-covered ones and reveal leaves that weren't in direct light.

I'm hoping some kind readers can give me some advice on where I should focus my efforts because I am clearly doing something terribly wrong. Sincerely, thanks for any advice you can offer.

Here's the setup I have today. I won't go into all the lighting variations I have had over the years, but I have more light available if it will help. (It didn't before!)

Hardware
  • 90 gal fresh water tank (24" light to substrate)
  • Substrate is Turface Pro (an inert fired clay product which allegedly has a high CEC)
  • Filtration is an API cannister
  • Lighting is 2x 55W 2G11 folded tubes (the tubes are very old)
  • Photoperiod 8 hours, but the tank gets a few hours of diffuse sulight from nearby windows

Water & supplements
  • Seattle-area tap water (SUPER soft, total hardness & alkalinity both approx 1 degree)
  • NO ferts in use