What do I need - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-30-2016, 11:22 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
What do I need

I want to build a nano planted tank maybe 3-5 gallons. I'm not sure on what I need as far as substrate and equipment. I don't want to do the co2 and I would like to build a tank that I can hide the equipment. I'm planning on actually building the glass tank myself. Please help with what pump, heater , and substrate. I love the bonsai tree look with the low green cover on bottom. Also what live stock can I have? I'm new at these so thanks in advance. I've kept reef tanks for 10 years but I know nothing about a planted tank.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-31-2016, 08:31 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (3/80%)
Welcome to the hobby man! Try to re-think your co2 decision if you have the extra $100! It will really add more options as far as plants go and help you achieve a better overall look. Since you mentioned the green cover you liked on the bottom of the tank, you should know that most good carpets require co2.. Even simple plants like Monte Carlo won't carpet without it. Achieving proper co2 levels in a 3-5 gallon tank will be very easy since the size of the tank is so small. Look into a 24 oz paintball tank and the aquatek mini regulator. The whole setup will run you a hundred and make your tank much less prone to algae if you choose a higher light setup. As far as substrate I prefer a blend of eco complete and black diamond substrate from aquariumplants.com

For the heater, it doesn't really matter but if you want to conceal it in the tank, search mini heaters on Amazon and you should be able to find one that fits your eye.

I'm not sure what you mean by pump, but if your in need of a filter check out Eheim and sunsun canister filters. Also Finnex makes a great model now for smaller tanks called the PX360.