LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-14-2016, 05:25 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Nano tank/fish question

I posted the following at another forum, Reddit/aquariums:

"Yes, I'm a noob. But so far so good!

Imgur: The most awesome images on the Internet

It's a Fluval Spec V. Upgraded to Stingray LED 16". 25 watt heater, added some Purigen. Mopani driftwood, black gravel, root tabs. Java fern (barely visible in these shots), Amazon sword (which I know will get too big), frogbit (doing gangbusters so far), Anubias, full size and nana petite, dwarf sagittarius. A tiny piece of dwarf baby tears hitchhiked with the frogbit, so I'm letting it grow floating. The java was a gift from a friend, but was really beat up, so heavily trimmed down. Some substrate came with it which got my tank cycled really quickly.

Fish are 3 serpae tetra and 4 zebra danios. I know thats a beginner fish, but I gotta say I enjoy them a lot. Very active. One is the boss... larger and more yellow, but they're all thriving. They love the intake area and the outflow stream. They sometimes swim madly into it like a salmon going up a waterfall. There's also a zone I call the hot tub... about a half inch of water between the surface and the top of a large anubias leaf that they swim in and out of all the time... must be warm up there.

I've been adding small amounts (5-10 drops) of Excell and Flourish every other day or so. Keeping it at 76 degrees F, edges up to 77.5 after a few hours under the light.

Really loving this hobby. Just wanted to share. Tank is one week old today. So far, zero melting of any of the plants, though the dwarf sag went in only 2 days ago."

I received responses that this was far too small a setup for these fish. Meanwhile, the danio do chase each other around, but are active and healthy. The serape are chill and only chase each other once in a while.

I want another opinion(s).

Thoughts?
Attached Thumbnails