No-tech planted jar advice - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-01-2015, 11:12 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
No-tech planted jar advice

Hello all,

I'm fairly new to fish and plant keeping. I currently have a 29g planted tank that is doing really well so far. I'm considering doing a small planted tank in a 1-2 gallon glass jar just for something fun to have in my room. I want it to be basically no tech except occasional feeding, ferts and water changes, and I was hoping for some tips on doing so! Here is the setup I am so far thinking (using things I currently have)

-~2 gallon jar (need to measure how much it takes)
-Fluval stratum substrate (only because I have this on hand. If this works out, I may try another using the walstad method just for an experiment)
-Fluorescent desk lamp/Sunlight (whichever the plants do better with)
-No heater
-No filter (will do water changes every 1-2 weeks as needed)
-Dose CO2 and ferts until plants establish?
-Will add a few snails and maybe shrimp after plants settle in (1-2 months maybe) and there is some algae for them.
-I will also likely use some of the water from my current tank that is already established to help it along

Questions:
-Does this sound reasonable so far?
-Which plants are easily accessible and hardy that would do well in this setting?(eg. from Canadian Petsmart). I was thinking Hornwort, because I hear it quite hardy even without CO2 or proper lighting, and is a good competitor for algae because it grows fairly quickly. I was also thinking some Ludwigia and a Crypt or Anubias. I will try to use some plants I have from my big tank once they grow a little more (Wisteria, ludwigia, crypts, etc.)
-Should I dose with ferts and CO2 at the beginning for the plants until it balances out after the critters are in?
-How big water changes should I do? I was thinking 50%