5g bowfront: Finding a way to avoid melting HC - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 38 (permalink) Old 07-05-2009, 04:57 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
5g bowfront: Finding a way to avoid melting HC

This is my first try on a planted tank.
Any suggestions/comments are very welcome and appreciated.

Tank size: 5 gallons
Substrate: 2kg of GEX shrimp and plants
Filter: Started with a 3w HOB filter, but replaced it with a Resun Cyclone 20 canister filter. It is rated at 200l/hour
CO2: DIY with diffuser
Fertilizer: Mr. Aqua LiquidFertilizer+ Mineral Substances
Light: 3pcs 14w T5 bulbs

June 27

Put substrate and water in the tank. HOB filter.

Here is the substrate I use. People tell me this is great stuff.

This is what my lighting system looks like. It used to be from the 20 gallon tank I had, and it's a little too big for my tank.

Here is where it is placed, beside my PC. As you can see, the lights look terrible. I'm still waiting for my Mr. Aqua clip-on light to arrive (27 watts only, but will look better aesthetically).

June 29

I added Anubias Golden, some moss, 2 unknown floating plants which my LFS gave for free, and a few lava rocks.

There are no inhabitants in the tank. The little danio was from the bigger tank. Just placed him there for a photo op.

Last edited by jourdy; 07-16-2009 at 12:05 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 38 (permalink) Old 07-05-2009, 04:58 AM Thread Starter

July 1

Lots of changes and additions.
Replaced the HOB filter with Resun Cyclone 20 canister filter. It is rated at 200 liters / hour, do you guys think this is overboard?
Added DIY CO2 and diffuser.
Added Myriophyllum, Bacopa, HC, HM, Alternanthera
Added 5 cherry shrimps

This is the diffuser and the unknown floating plant

Overhead picture of the tank

Front view

Anubias pearling

The shrimp

July 4
Sold the Anubias to a friend since it is too big for my nano tank.