Silly question? Nano fish and filters. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-17-2015, 06:24 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Silly question? Nano fish and filters.

I'm brand new to this. I've got a 5G set up and cycling now and I've spent the last week reading up on every possible fish I can potentially stock, as well as haunting the isles of my LFS.

Neon blue rasboras seem likely to be one of my choices for the tank, but they are so darn tiny I was wondering if they - or other small fish - ever get sucked into filters?

Mine has the usual plastic covering on it, but the gaps are probably large enough for a tiny fish to fit through.

Is that not an issue if they're healthy and swimming around?

Thanks for humoring the newcomer!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-17-2015, 06:53 AM
Planted Tank Guru

That's actually a valid concern. Even with a fairly weak filter, an unwary or sleeping fish can get stuck or sucked in. Mesh over the filter inlet will fix that, but you have to clean it now and then.
Be sure to put plenty of plants in the tank, even if it's just a bunch of Java moss. It grows tiny buggies for the fish to eat, keeps the water cleaner, provides hiding places, and also looks pretty good.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My current project, a 65 gallon aquarium stocked with vernal pool fauna.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-17-2015, 01:25 PM
Algae Grower