Planted Chi - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-12-2015, 06:58 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (2/100%)
Planted Chi

Hello all,

As you can see by my post count, I am new here.
Not only that, I am fairly new to the planted aquarium scene as well. So, here is my first planted tank. I am thinking of making it my shrimp tank.

As you can tell, I'm also attempting to dry start as well.
Tank: Fluval Chi 5g (10x10x12h)
Filter: Thinking of running with a sponge filter
Lighting: Finnex FugeRay Planted+
Substrate: SeaChem Florite Black Sand, Special Kitty, some micro pebble substrate to cover.
Fertilization: SeaChem Florite Black Sand, SeaChem Flourish
Flora: Cyperus Helferi, Hemianthus Callitrichoides

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-12-2015, 11:44 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (9/100%)
Welcome to the group! I see you are off to a great start! As this is your first attempt at planted tanks, what made you decide to start with HC? What are your filtration options? You mentioned a sponge, this would be recommended by most shrimp keepers. I'm excited to see your process, and will be happy to answer any questions you might have about the area stores and where to avoid! Best of luck on your DSM tank!!!
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-13-2015, 12:28 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Quote:
Originally Posted by tlyons01 View Post
Welcome to the group! I see you are off to a great start! As this is your first attempt at planted tanks, what made you decide to start with HC? What are your filtration options? You mentioned a sponge, this would be recommended by most shrimp keepers. I'm excited to see your process, and will be happy to answer any questions you might have about the area stores and where to avoid! Best of luck on your DSM tank!!!