Dry Starting my sister's betta tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-03-2015, 05:08 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
Dry Starting my sister's betta tank

So I wanted my sister to share the love of fish keeping. I am starting this tank for her hoping she will get into it more.

Right now I am dry starting it with Hydrocotyle Sp. Japan and some HC. I plan to add some Rotala rotundifolia after I fill it up and fix the river.

Sorry for the bad phone picture but it takes better pictures than my camera.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20150502_230104.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	55.0 KB
ID:	469402  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-03-2015, 05:14 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (12/100%)
I'd remove some of the water. You may run into mold. What is your substrate?
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-03-2015, 05:22 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

This is my first time dry starting anything so I will remove some water

The substrate is dirt capped with sand. I plan for it to be a Walstad style tank. My sister is headed off to college so she is not going to have time for a high maintenance tank.

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-03-2015, 06:10 AM
Wannabe Guru

Alright cool. Just lower it to below the surface of the substrate at the front of the tank. Even lower if you are going to be misting it.
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-03-2015, 11:07 AM
Planted Tank Obsessed

Its called "Dry start" for a reason The substrate just need's to be damp. No puddles allowed. This will just lead to fungus ime. And with the amount of water you have, algae too.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-03-2015, 03:05 PM
Wannabe Guru

Quote: