Weekend Care for Planted 10g? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-26-2015, 10:05 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (1/100%)
Lightbulb Weekend Care for Planted 10g?

Hi,

I'm a newbie but have had enough success with my 40 gallon tank that I'm now obsessed and starting a small 10g planted tank for my office.

I'm open to suggestions, but am currently thinking about having galaxy rasbora, chili rasbora, and some shrimp. I also love dwarf pencilfish, but know I can't have too many fish in such a small tank. I'm wondering if there is a small algae-eater that might also fit in the tank?

Most importantly, I'm wondering what I should do for the weekends, since I won't be available to feed the fish. I've read that it is fine to leave fish for a few days without feeding, but is it ok to do that on such a regular schedule? I'm planning on feeding them new life spectrum flakes during the week. Also, I've heard that it is good to reduce light while you are away... should I do this on the weekend as well?

I've got the tank planted, but it's not ready for fish yet. I'm using AquaSoil Amazonia.

Thanks for any advice!

-Annelise
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-26-2015, 10:08 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (0/0%)
Leave the light alone as long as you set a fairly consistent photoperiod and darkeness cycle. Not feeding them for 2 days is not only fine, it probably is good for them. Cleans out their guts. Just don't give a heavy feeding on the first few days and ensure you have good oxygenation at night.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| Eheim Prof 3, 2217, 2213 (Purigen only) + 350 Skim, Reeflex UV 800 | HC300A Chiller | 3xKessil A360WE LED + Spectral Controller | Pres. CO2 + Aqua Medic Reactor1000 | DIY Fertz + 2 x Jabeo DP-4 | CAL AQUA LABS’ Black Earth & GreenBase subst. + root tabs