My planted nano-aquarium Saga - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-25-2015, 07:10 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Smile My planted nano-aquarium Saga

Hello everyone, new member here :-)

A brief intro: this is my first ever aquarium, but I've had some experience with a somewhat similar hobby in the past.

I was given as a gift a Fluval Chi tank (19 Liters/5 US Gallons) and then I started adding all sorts of things. The external pump is rated at 200 Liters / hour with a capacity of 3 Liters, whilst the light is a Toshiba E-Core LED, rated at 19.8 Watts but equivalent to 30 Watt fluorescent. This gives me around 4 Watt/Gallon and up to 6 Watt / Gallon depending on the LED marketing hype. The LED is rated at 6500K and due to the small fish tank, it really penetrates down to the bottom.

I have planted dwarf baby tears at the foreground, and dwarf haigrass at the background. I used as first layer a type of fertilised soil I bought from my LFS (sorry don't remember the brand) over which I've added roughly two inches of gravel (I know, I should had bought ADA soil).

My experience so far has been very mixed. The tank has 3 neocardina shrimps, 3 cardinas shrimps, 2 nerite snails and 8 cardinal tetras. I know what you'll say, that it is overcrowded, but I assure you the heavy filtration and frequent water changes, keep ammonia and nitrite to zero most of the days (more on that later).

My problems started with algae: I've had almost all types of algae so far: brown algae, fuzzy algae, hair algae, blue-green algae (cyanobacteria) and lately I'm back to brown hair algae.