New to the game - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-24-2009, 05:44 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
New to the game

Hello all,
I am new to the FW planted scene and found this site by googling planted picotope. The reason I made a search for this is because I currently own a 3 gal JBJ Picotope. I used to be a big SW guy, with a 30g cube saltwater and a 8g Biocube. I left all that behind because I got bored after 2 years, but couldn't fully walk away so I purchased a 3g Picotope. This little guy lasted about 2 months until I finally decided, "I'm out of the SW game". I got out, completely washed out the tank and made it into a FW after a few weeks of cycling. I'm on here cause I would like to learn more on what I need, like better filtration system, what I need to keep my plants alive, and many other questions. I currently have the following:

25w Hydor Theo Heater
9w 10k bulb
Stock JBJ filter with a carbon pack (Advice on a low budget upgrade)
Mexican white fine gravel (I don't know, this is what was advertised at the store)
Hygrophila plant

Here are some pictures of when it was a SW tank
Heater was temporary

Now on to FW
First day I added plants

Second day didn't like the aquascaping of the plants

Close up

I take criticism well so away we go
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-24-2009, 06:28 AM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Good start into planted djorijun um you might wanna get some plant friendly substrate. What do you have for Co2 ? Are you doseing with seachem flourish?
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-24-2009, 06:34 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Quote:
Originally Posted by bagz_of_fish View Post
Good start into planted djorijun um you might wanna get some plant friendly substrate. What do you have for Co2 ? Are you doseing with seachem flourish?