Fishwood's 4.5 Gallon Office Garden Cube - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 76 (permalink) Old 03-13-2009, 05:09 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Fishwood's 4.5 Gallon Office Garden Cube

Hey all, thought I'd start a little thread to chronicle my first true foray into a planted tank.

My background--I've been kind of an "on again, off again" aquarium enthusiast for several years. I'm no expert, but I try to read a lot. The "off again" part has been largely due to moving around a lot and being a broke grad student. Now that I'm out of school, I'm trying to get more in to aquariums. Sadly, I'm still not settled in a particular city. However, I need to scratch the aquarium bug, so I decided a small office tank would be the way to go.

So without further adieu, here's the tank:

I saw this little tank in a LFS here in Sacramento several months back in a faux oak finish, which I didn't care for. I stopped back on a whim after work one day, hoping to find the same tank in black, and I lucked out.

The make is "Aqua Aquariums" (they really reached on that one), and the dimensions are 10 inches wide x 10 inches deep x 10.5 inches tall, for a total water volume of roughly 4.5 gallons.

It came with a glass lid that covers 2/3 of the top, and a basic light fixture which will be the subject of my first issue/question.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 76 (permalink) Old 03-13-2009, 05:21 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

I've spent more time in the past couple of years playing with saltwater nanos than freshwater tanks, so I definitely consider myself a newbie. As such, I'm going to try to keep this tank as simple as possible. My tentative plans are as follows:

Equipment:

-Theo Hydor 50w heater. I have this from a previous setup, but I think I'm going to switch to the visitherm stealth because the black housing will be less visible against the soon-to-be black background