New BioCube 14 with CO2 - mini regulator? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-27-2015, 07:12 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
New BioCube 14 with CO2 - mini regulator?

Hi, newbie here. I am setting up a BioCube 14 nano. Having bad analysis paralysis for the last two weeks from all the reading here, a couple other sites, and each place I could buy from, I finally decided to use the Aquatek mini reg. and 24oz Empire tank, free shipping with my Prime membership on Amazon.

After all this reading, sweaty palms & furrowed brow, I am concerned I made the wrong decision.

I have the BioCube stand that is 13x13x26 (WxDxH). It has to hold my Eheim 388 (bought in 1976, for my 55 g SW and still purrs along), prefilter, the co2 paintball tank (24 oz) the Aquatek mini reg., hoses, test kits, fish food/net, air pump, digital Coralife controller, and other stuff. Sure, I will have to put a shelf in there and hang some things on the walls, but what else is there for a small "mini"-type regulator? I realize that the regulator isn't top of the line, but will it suffice? I will need no more than 1 bps, I suspect.

So if any of you that have expertise in co2 regulators and tanks, can advise me of another one or two manufacturers for a system that will FIT in my limited space, I can return my Amazon purchase, and purchase something different.

My small experience in FW goes back to early-mid 1960's, breeding Anabantids, SW since the middle 1970's (I retired the 35 year old SW 55g tank a couple of years ago. I am rethinking to set it up in another room, after I learn more about planted tanks from this nano.)

Can you help me out? Is there an alternative regulator that isn't so touchy to set (and must fit my stands' footprint)?
TIA
Ket

Pix of my sad looking tank, and some supplies:
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-27-2015, 08:06 AM
Algae Grower