First planted tank-- 10 gallon - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-13-2009, 04:11 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
First planted tank-- 10 gallon

I've been keeping fish for several years now and have done everything from 5-75 gallons. All fake plants until now due to some ever-hungry silver dollars in my old tank. I've been wanting to take the plunge into planted tanks for a while now and am slowly accumulating equipment for my 125 gallon tank that is yet to be set up. I am partially waiting to set it up until I move in the summer. So for now, I thought it would be a good idea to try my hand at a planted tank on a smaller scale to kind of work out some of the kinks before doing it on such a large scale--and boy I'm glad I did!

I started by using a standard 10 gallon tank that I had in my closet. I also had a tetra whisper filter that is good for tanks up to 10 gallons as well as a small heater. I experimented with putting my koralia 1 powerhead in there but it was just wayyy too much flow. It turned the whole tank into a whirlpool almost. For substrate I used some potting soil I got at lowes that is supposed to be for orchids and maintain a lower pH. This soil also has miracle gro in it and I have since read that this might not have been the best idea. I haven't noticed any problems with this so far. Lastly I covered the potting soil with some black aquarium gravel. For lighting I used two 10 watt compact fluorescent bulbs in the standard hood. This was my first scape on Jan 23.
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0586 (Small).jpg
Views:	241
Size:	47.0 KB
ID:	12020

I wasn't really happy with the look of the big rock and I really wanted some wood in there so I found a piece of wood when I was hiking. I boiled it for about 30 minutes and weighted it down with another rock I found.

Name:	IMG_0590 (Small).jpg
Views:	96
Size:	52.5 KB
ID:	12021