Stocking advice for new 10 gal please - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-21-2015, 07:17 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Stocking advice for new 10 gal please

Hello, I'm a newbie. I've been secretly reading the site for two months, now I would like some advice on stocking my first tank (actually, tanks, because I got MTS while I was still in the shopping phase but I'm focusing on the 10 gal first).

Setup so far:

*10 gal with full-spectrum light hood, Marina SlimFilter, Eheim Jager 50 w heater, Malaysian driftwood
*Anacharis, moneywort, Amazon sword, creeping charlie, hornwort and a crypt (I bought a multi-pack, I don't mind taking some out if they aren't right)
*Tank is mid-cycle, with ammonia going from 3ppm to zero in 24 hours, nitrite isn't yet converting to nitrate
*Well water without chlorine, but high kH and pH (dKH 16, ph 8.4) out of the tap. We use a water-softener and iron filtration system
*One (apple?) snail smaller than a peppercorn that came on the crypt, but seems to have disappeared

I have Prime, which bring pH down even though I don't need it for decholorinating, and Flourish, and I did not use any other products to boost the cycle after reading here about how they don't work. I just bought API pH Down, but I haven't used it yet, since the pH dropped after I added plants used Prime just yesterday – do I need anything besides Prime?

In general, how am I doing?

I would also like stocking suggestions; I promise NO ANIMALS before the parameters are stable. I like the following fish and would like to know what combinations would be happy in a small tank, and how many of each kind. I know I can't have all of them but I hope some combination would be successful. I can always get another tank for the rest, right…

Celestial pearl danios (with sparkling or powderblue dwarf gourami?)
Harlequin rasboras (with honey dwarf gourami?)
Pea puffer (any tankmates at all?)
Pygmy corys