Fluval Spec V or Marineland 10G - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-18-2015, 04:02 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Fluval Spec V or Marineland 10G

Eventually I want to convert my 20G high to a South American biotope tank and will need to relocate my Betta. I've never done a planted tank before and thought a nano would be the route to go for both the Betta and the planting practice.

I've been reading a lot on the forum about the Spec V and how with a few mods it can be a great little tank. I had originally planned to do a low light/low tech setup but after doing some pricing I found that for around $20 more I could get a Marineland 10G kit and a FugeRAY Planted+. This would give me a larger tank, plus the heater, no mods and a far superior lighting setup. I know this means I'll have to introduce CO2 in the near future. I also know the Spec V needs some mods to make it safe for Betta.

Just looking for input from individuals that have experience with either type of setup. Trying to weigh out the pros and cons of each.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-19-2015, 01:23 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

I'm trying to fit this setup on a night stand which is why I was originally drawn to the size of the Spec V. After drawing out and comparing the footprint of both tanks the cheaper and higher volume 10G is worth the loss of space. (Spec V is 17.2"L x 6.3"W / Marineland 10G is 20"L x 10"W)

The next issue is lighting. I was looking at the FugeRAY Planted+ but learned there is a "24/7" model set to be released. It includes a built in timer that cycles color and intensity to mimic sunset and sunrise. The timer setting is a must since this will be in the bedroom and I like the idea of the sunset and sunrise features.