I'm going to plant an eclipse or 6 gal tank :) How? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-03-2009, 03:12 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
I'm going to plant an eclipse or 6 gal tank :) How?

Hi all I'm new here, but have been browsing for awhile

I am going to buy a 5 or 6 gallon tank on thursday, and eclipse most likely - And I can't wait!!

But - As always - I'm a newbie to this whole concept in general. My tank would house my betta fish, and potentially a couple of cherry shrimp, is this okay?

A couple of questions -
- How do I even start this? Do I dechlorinate the water, add the substrate, and plant right away? Or do I cycle for sure first?? And then add plants? Or how do I even start? (Sorry - I'm just completely clueless!)
- I want low light, and easy plants...I was thinking of some Anubias, some floating duckweed, some java moss, and maybe some crypts or two...Yes? No?? What do you recomend?
- I've read on fertilizers and CO2, but would they really be necassary just yet? I'm going to get a ten gallon later on in life, in which I would use them, but for now is it necassary?
- How did you guys start your tanks? What do I do first? And then what else after that? When is it safe to add Yume (My betta fish )?
- Water changes - How do you guys do your water changes? With my 1.5 gal bowl (NOT planted) I just dump out about a gallon, and add another fresh dechlorinated gallon. I'm guessing a 5 or 6 gallon is different?

I'll have more questions later on, but for now this is enough... I won't start anything until I have all the answers I need first I don't want to mess up I'm sorry I'm so new - I'll read up more - Promise! I'm just lost

Thank you SO much for the help!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-03-2009, 04:53 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (12/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bettalover View Post