Fluval Edge lookalike - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-16-2015, 04:06 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Fluval Edge lookalike

Hey guys,

This is my first time ever aquascaping and I just bought a fluval edge and planted it and everything. However, I'm coming to the realization I can't do what I want to do with this tank: I can't grow HC or a decent carpet due to the low lighting.

Therefore I'm considering a return for my edge if I can find a suitable replacement tank. I'm looking for a tank that has similar dimensions and characteristics to the fluval edge 6 gallon.

So...

Rimless
~6-10 gallons

Any suggestions to this newbie would be very helpful! Thanks guys!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-16-2015, 04:28 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (14/100%)
Look into the fluval flora/ fluval ebi. They come with a single light, decent soil, and a mediocre in-tank filter. Depending on the model you'll also get either shrimp supplies or planting tongs(very nice) and some liquid nutes. The front and sides are a single curved pane of glass. It comes with a glass lid as well. They have a 7.9 gallon capacity. I've enjoyed mine over the years however I've replaced the filter and either upgraded the lights or purchased an additional one of the included one.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-16-2015, 04:32 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (14/100%)
The lights are removable and attach firmly to the side. They can be found on amazon for around 90 I believe, that is if you can get it shipped intact. Amazon's customer service is remarkable though so they'll send you new ones until you get an intact one. You might even get some free stuff because they didn't make me send the broken tank/accessories back

post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-16-2015, 06:12 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (1/100%)