Brand New 3 gal Cube - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-19-2014, 09:04 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Brand New 3 gal Cube

I'm a newbie and just set up my first tank tonight! It's a 3gal cube and I went with dirt substrate. I'm all set up, but kind of lost as to where to go from here. I haven't set up a filter, so that's my first priority. Anything else I need? How long will it take to cycle?
I have a 13w CFL, 6500K light. Too much/too little? How long should I leave it on for? How far away should it be from the top of the tank?
Also, maybe someone can help me ID my plants. I'm pretty sure the one on the left side is a Crypt Wendtii, maybe the right is an Amazon Sword? I have no idea on the floating one.
Any glaring errors I need to fix or upcoming disasters you can see?
Sorry the photo is sideways!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	156
Size:	108.0 KB
ID:	405442  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-19-2014, 09:14 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Here's a better photo of the top of the floating plant..
http://imgur.com/PB6rMr6
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-19-2014, 10:46 AM
Algae Grower