Fluval Chi Shrimp Tank log - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-12-2014, 04:08 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Fluval Chi Shrimp Tank log

Although I'm not new to fishkeeping, This is my first time with co2 so I'm just itching with excitement over the spectrum of plants I can put into the tank. I have blue pearl shrimp coming in the next week or 2, and I'm not done with the aquascape since I've been doing the dry-start method until I filled the tank with water recently. Any suggestions on what I need to know in the future and possible plants that would look good in those blank spots?

Plants (for now):
Dwarf Baby Tears
Marimo Moss Ball

Specs:
ZooMed Canister Filter
Co2 System (20 bubbles per minute) <---Need help with this, no option to turn it off overnight either
LED Light (Once again, really sorry but I have no idea what the specs are :/ since I got this pretty cheap without a box at a garage sale)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Tank3.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	56.3 KB
ID:	402961  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Tank4.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	62.0 KB
ID:	402969  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-12-2014, 04:22 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

I run my co2 24/7 but at lights out I have a air pump that kicks on to an airstone to off gass the co2 overnight then goes off 1 hr before lights on it seems to be working just fine as I don't have any ph swings
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-12-2014, 04:31 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

So the air pump is just running overnight to balance it out? I've heard of that but never actually tried it. Can I get a pic? The tubing from the filter already look clunky to me, not sure if putting ANOTHER tube in would make it look better, but if it's for the safety of the shrimp, I guess I have to go that route. Thanks for the tip If you have any more ideas, don't be afraid to chime in!