New Planted Pico Bowl - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-07-2014, 07:42 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
New Planted Pico Bowl

Hi team. I'm looking to set up a new pico planted tank. Here's a pic of it:

I'm looking for advice on any extra equipment, plants, aquascaping, and any other advice that the veterans would like to suggest. I've got some experience in nano reef keeping (not this small though, 3G at the least), but not much in freshwater planted tanks, so I'm not totally lost.

I've retrofitted the pendant that came with the bowl with a Cree XML2-W318 pushed by a buckpuck and 2A, so the lighting should be pretty decent. I don't have a cooling fan on it, but have one standing by if I need to add it.

I'd like to keep it as cheap as possible, maybe by using a dirt substrate, and by any other means you guys can suggest.

I live in northern Ohio, so heating the bowl is a concern.

I'd like to keep it pretty low maintenance, but still pretty appealing to look at (of course?).
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-08-2014, 01:14 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

I never thought it'd be this difficult to find small aquarium rocks that aren't gravel...
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-08-2014, 01:59 AM
Planted Member

I have no advice to offer you; I'm just curious to how your project turns out.

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-09-2014, 08:23 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (14/100%)
My best advice for pico bowls? Don't worry about it, relax! What's the worst that can happen? An itty bitty bowl gets a bit of algae?