"No-Tech" Planted Jars/Vases - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-22-2014, 02:45 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (11/100%)
"No-Tech" Planted Jars/Vases

I would like to start a planted vase without any filter/light/heater. I was wondering if anyone has advice on how to go about this. Or if there are any threads with walkthroughs. I have handful of extra eco complete I will take from my established nano tank for the substrate in the vase, as well as using some trimmings from that tank. I would also like to toss in a couple snails and a few shrimp. Would sunlight from being placed on an eastward facing windowsill be enough light, too much, or not enough light? I have various succulents on the same windowsill that thrive. How often and how much percentage water changes should be performed? Any suggestions or advice is appreciated, as I have never done a no-tech vase before. Thanks!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-22-2014, 03:32 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
I have several no and very low tech planted bowls/vases. Right now I have a 1 gal and an 8 oz no tech tank and a 2 gal with light only. One no tech tanks get eastern AM light and the other is in a SE window. All three have a mix of planted, floating, and emergent plants. The only fauna in all three tanks are some snails. I'm not sure how shrimp would do in these tanks.

- Getting the light right is a bit tricky until the plants are established, then the plants usually outcompete algea.

- Temperatures swing by 10 F as the sun comes and goes. Temperature swings are more dramatic as the tanks get smaller. The temps vary from 65-78 in the smallest tank.