Plant suggestions - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-13-2014, 02:33 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Post Plant suggestions

Hey,
So I'm new to planted tanks and I've had my first one all set up for about a week now (I have a tank journal in the journal forum).

I wanted some suggestions on the plants, how well you think the the plants I have will work and look under the standard Fluval Edge lighting (7600K LED).

This is what I have from left to right:

- Anubias and Java Moss on a lava rock
- Hygrophyla corymbosa "stricta"
- Dwarf hair grass in the foreground
- Rotala Wallichii
- Moss Ball
- Wisteria
- Lilaeopsis novae-zelandiae (micro-sword?)

Also, I wanted to put something very small in there, in the front-center (also right under the light) but I'm not sure what. I'd want it to spread throughout the foreground. Any ideas?

Here's a picture:
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-13-2014, 05:15 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (17/100%)
Hmm...never had a fluval edge, but it would appear the light is rather weak... Considering how leggy your hygrophila plants are, both the corymbosa and the difformis (which is wisteria). I've seen people lay a finnex light on top on the front to help light the whole thing, or perhaps some other low-profile light. I would think some of these plants will struggle without some more light.

Perhaps someone else can weigh in that has experience with these tanks.

For a foreground plant: maybe some crypt parva? That should do ok in low-light. Really slow grower though, particularly in low-tech tanks. The microsword is supposed to do well in low-tech. Might want to break it up a little more though, to help it spread out.

Old tanks, all torn down:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-